Ready? Set? Go.....! The point of no return. - Reisverslag uit Melbourne, Australië van Mark Veer - WaarBenJij.nu Ready? Set? Go.....! The point of no return. - Reisverslag uit Melbourne, Australië van Mark Veer - WaarBenJij.nu

Ready? Set? Go.....! The point of no return.

Door: Mark van't Veer

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Mark

25 Februari 2017 | Australië, Melbourne

The first few days are over with and I must say it has been an amazing experience.

I left on Saturday the 18th around 11:00 and arrived at Schiphol at 12:00 where most of my family was present to say their final goodbyes for now.
The flight itself left at 14:30 and all the checks went flawless because....well doh its me.
After the first 8 hours of flying I arrived in Dubai and had a quick transfer as I only had 2 hours and we had to check in at the airplane approximately 60 minutes before departure.
All well and good and the 2nd part of the flight began, a hauling 13 hours with 2 crying babies on board, oh it was fabulous.
The perfect solution was earphones in and listening to music while trying to take some rest and forget the world around you while you fly away from all that you know.

Once I arrived on Melbourne airport I had to wait about 15 minutes for my luggage to arrive and I took the Skybus to Southern Cross Station, one of the main stations in Melbourne.
Here I met Jose, a wonderful guy who has been hosting and showing backpackers Melbourne for a while now.
Since it was about 00:30 here right now we went straight to his home and I met Guilio, a Italian backpacker who has been in Australia for about 16 months now.
We talked a bit but went to sleep rather soon as we were totally wasted.

My main goal was to find a job and just get going in Melbourne however after a day of walking around Melbourne and becoming more familiar with the culture I decided and got advised to just relax in the first week and explore.
And so I did, I decided I should just let go of the pressure of finding a job and met wonderful people and explore many suburbs and had a great time.
There is street-art on every corner and there are so many different people and stereotypes, its great.
We've been on the beach, got burned, went to some night markets and had the most amazing coffee and food.

Thursday evening I put up my CV on Gumtree, a website to find jobs and all kind of other things in Australia.
After about 3 hours I had quite a few people that were interested mainly due to the fact I had posted several Latte-art pictures which is a big thing here.
I dropped my CV at Dumbo (a breakfast/lunchroom) that I've been following for a while and they seemed quite enthusiastic, so that is to be continued.
I'm now in contact with a few people from cafe's and hope to be having my first trials next week so I can get going.
Once I have a job secured for up to May I will start looking for a flat to rent, hopefully shared.

My time here is great and the people are amazing and friendly, I am so curious to see what the rest of the year will bring and who knows if I will stay a little longer or not ;) only time will tell.

If you would like to stay up to date on a more regular base you can check my Instagram @ImMarkVV since I upload pictures more regular then that I upload blogs.


  • 25 Februari 2017 - 12:36

    Mirjam:

    ...jij hebt t nú al veeeeeulstegoed naar je zin!.... ;-) xx

  • 25 Februari 2017 - 12:37

    Baas Boaz:

    ome markt, is mis je heel erg en ik ben je béste vriend! ik vond de foto's mooi om te zien en ik vond het vliegtuig waar je in zat ook práchtig! doei!! en nog veel kusjes!!

  • 25 Februari 2017 - 16:04

    Rob:

    Ben blij dat de reis is verlopen, verheug me op je volgende avontuur. Stay safe

  • 01 Maart 2017 - 10:33

    Matthea:

    Wat heerlijk Mark, goed gedaan , eerst wat relaxen, aankomen , ervaren end zien en dan aan het werk. Veel plezier en succes joh

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Mark

18 Februari vertrek ik voor 11 maanden naar Australië, in de eerste 3 zal als barista in Melbourne werken. Daarna zal ik gaan rondreizen en wil ik zoveel mogelijk zien van Australië en mogelijk ook Nieuw-Zeeland. Volg mijn verhaal, de ups en downs, de mooie en misschien ook wel minder mooie dingen van mijn reis!

Actief sinds 05 Feb. 2017
Verslag gelezen: 506
Totaal aantal bezoekers 2876

Voorgaande reizen:

18 Februari 2017 - 18 Januari 2018

I go to a land Down Under....

Landen bezocht: